top of page


The Edinburgh Jewish Cultural Centre and The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh proudly honour the memory and achievements of the pioneering surgeon who was the second female fellow and the first female practising fellow of the College, Dr. Gertrude Herzfeld (1890-1981). Dr. Herzfeld was one of the first female surgeons to work in Scotland and was a pioneering Jewish female paediatric surgeon in Edinburgh. 


The Herzfeld Prize is presented biennially to a living outstanding Jewish woman, from any country, who has excelled in surgery, medicine, public health, or the sciences as related to these fields and whose life and career emulates the lifetime values, hard work and success of Dr. Gertrude Herzfeld.  This woman should emulate the leadership, audaciousness, commitment, and drive that Dr. Gertrude Herzfeld conveyed. The award will be presented to Dr. Mardge Cohen at The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh on 3rd March 2024 and she will be attending the ceremony to receive the award in person.

Herzfeld Prize Save the Date (1).jpg
Dr Hynda K Kleinman           Dr Gertrude Herzfeld
World Leading Scientist Receives The 2022 Herzfeld Prize
Celebrating International Woman's Day 
Presented by the Edinburgh Jewish Cultural Centre

On 6 March 2022 at the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, Dr Hynda K. Kleinman, who for over thirty years directed a research lab at the USA National Institutes of Health and has authored over 440 scientific papers and been awarded ten patents, of which 3 have been commercialised, received the Second Biennial Herzfeld Prize. The award was presented by the President of the Royal College of Surgeons, Professor Michael Griffin, Professor Janet Wilson, Frank Ross, Lord Provost of Edinburgh, Hanna Ross, Lady Provost of Edinburgh and the Chair of the Herzfeld Prize committee, Ella Lambert.

The Herzfeld Prize is named in honour of Dr Gertrude Herzfeld who was the first female surgeon in Scotland and a pioneering female Jewish paediatric surgeon.

All photos by Lesley Martin.

L to R Professor Michael Griffin, Professor Janet Wilson, Lord Provost Frank Ross, Lady Provost Hanna Ross, Ella Lambert, Dr Hynda K Kleinman

Ella Lambert, Chair of Herzfeld Prize and Dr Hynda K Kleinman

Dr Hynda K Kleinman is congratulated upon receiving the Herzfeld Prize by Professor Michael Griffin, President of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh

Herzfeld Prize Ceremony guests dance the Jewish Hora to Celebrate Prize Giving to Dr Hynda K Kleinman

bottom of page